Southeast RI

The Southeast Region includes three of Rhode Island's four islands, including Aquidneck, Conanicut, and Prudence, which is largely uninhabited. Conanicut Island hosts the municipality of Jamestown, while Aquidneck includes Portsmouth, Middletown, and Newport.

Although the northern and eastern municipalities border Massachusetts to the east, they all have substantial shorelines like their island neighbors. With towns founded in 1638-39, the region features some of Rhode Island’s earliest history, including Roger Williams’s encounters with the Narragansett and Wampanaog Tribes, which eventually helped lead to the establishment of the colony and later the state.


  • Barrington
  • Bristol
  • Jamestown
  • Little Compton
  • Middletown
  • Newport
  • Portsmouth
  • Tiverton
  • Warren

Land Area (Sq. Mi):


Contact Us

Email Us
Newsletter Sign Up


One Empire Plaza
Providence, RI 02903

RI Alliance for Healthy Homes

A project of
HousingWorks RI